2021 President's Message

President's Message

Clinton Beall, B & D Industries, Inc. | AGC New Mexico 2021 President

We can all agree that 2020 was a year of uncertainty and challenges, and it appears that 2021 will continue to present interesting new changes we must be prepared to navigate. The good news is our future looks bright because the construction industry has played a lead role in rebuilding New Mexico’s economy during such an arduous time. Now, more than ever it is imperative that we remain focused on AGC New Mexico , our trade association’s mission.  Your continued support through membership and participation will allow us to stand behind our commitment to advocate for your business goals, collaborate on industry-wide initiatives and to further educate our industry on best practices. Thank you for your membership.

Together with AGC of America , we’ve set goals for 2021 to focus on infrastructure investments, regulatory reforms and enacting liability reforms that will help stimulate new economic activity and demand for construction and as we work to advocate for measures to rebuild economic development and demand for construction. We must recognize and support the extraordinary work of National AGC and unite under this effort as they identify more policy issues that will arise as the year progresses. AGC of America is regarded as “the construction association” because of the amount of resources that are devoted to this effort and their experienced team of government relations professionals who will continue to represent you and the industry at the highest levels of government. No other association is more visible in its promotion of construction and member-firm interests across all sectors of the federal government than AGC. Closer to home, the 2021 60-day NM Legislative Session will begin on January 19. There will be many newly elected state leaders and we are poised to help them better understand our industry. But, again, we need you, AGC members to engage, support and assist AGC so we may avoid imposing regulatory measures that will undermine efforts to revive our economy and create more jobs.
To support future growth, we also need to take longer-term steps to continue developing the construction workforce through quality education programs. For 2021, AGC NM will introduce new safety-related services and training, new workforce development programs, and our Construction is Essential Campaign. Bob Lanham, AGC of America, President stated that

“We have a historic opportunity to recruit many of the millions of qualified workers who have lost their jobs because of the pandemic into high-paying construction careers. To do that, AGC of America is launching a new workforce recruitment effort called "Construction is Essential." We want to remind workers that their careers in construction will be more stable and secure than the jobs they had that were shut down in the spring. We will be launching digital ads, promotional videos, an educators’ toolkit and other resources encouraging people to Become Essential starting early this year. We will need members to engage in helping support this campaign and spreading its message as widely as possible.”
I urge your support and engagement as AGC solicits your feedback to share what opportunities your firm has to offer young people looking for an introduction into the construction industry. We sincerely hope to see more industry partners engage in our goal of getting new talent into construction. This year, we will continue to strengthen our Unilateral Training Committee’s (UTC) workforce development role and apprentice opportunities to advance our program.  We are working on expansion of our reach into the apprenticeship realm and putting resources in place to support the work of the NMBEF through grants.  The educational opportunities and events that are planned for 2021 represent a wide array of training for those at any stage of their career.
Our collaboration efforts will continue as we further expand our support of the industry through volunteer programs and services like:

  • The Human Resource (HR) Committee which keeps members current with shifting employment requirements.

  • Associate/Affiliate Council was formed to offer greater networking opportunities for a critical and growing segment our membership.

  • The Construction Leadership Council (CLC) provides peer-driven professional development. 

  • The Women of the Construction Industry program helps support and develop this dynamic group of women through an annual special event.

  • The safety programs retain a full agenda through our ES&H Committee and our CHASE Partnership.

If you are interested in volunteering to serve on a committee or council, please contact staff to learn more about how you can contribute your knowledge and grow your network of peers in the industry. I sure hope to see in person events return to our organization this coming year.

All my best to you for a prosperous and safe 2021.

2021 Officers
President | Clinton Beall, B&D Industries, Inc.  (Albuquerque, NM)
Immediate Past President | Dennis Towne, Bradbury Stamm Construction (Albuquerque, NM)
Vice President | Teryn Lamoreux, Jaynes Corporation  (Albuquerque, NM)
Secretary-Treasurer | John Stroud, JB Henderson Construction (Albuquerque, NM)
2021 Board of Directors

Fred Bazan, Western States Fire Protection (Albuquerque, NM)
Greg Elison, Southwest Glass & Glazing (Albuquerque, NM)
Brent Franken, Franken Construction (Las Vegas / Albuquerque, NM)
David Langley, LLR Construction Co.  (Santa Fe, NM)
Philip Menicucci, Paramount Custom Cabinets, Inc. (Albuquerque, NM)
Rick Murphy, Murphy Builders, Inc.  (Gallup, NM)
Aaron Stricker, Bradbury Stamm Construction (Albuquerque, NM)
Patrick Thomas, Summit Construction (Albuquerque, NM)
Keith Wilson, Miller Bonded Inc. (Albuquerque, NM)
2021 Associates - Affiliate Division Chairs

Chair: Roxanna Meyers, Century Sign Builders (Albuquerque, NM)
Vice-Chair: Leon Jones III, City Wide Construction Enterprises LLC  (Albuquerque, NM)
AGC of America Honorary Board Position Shad James, Jaynes Corporation (Albuquerque, NM)